Two S400f rifles different results

no avatar
Ken G

Two S400f rifles different results

Mon May 11, 2015 4:05 pm

My wife and I started shooting last December both have S400f classic which were purchased new, from day 1 my wife has had better results than me :x which has been frustrating to say the least. She can get single hole groupings (size of a pellet) on average 1 in 5 targets 5 pellet groups at 20m. Ihave only managed this once in the same period of time. So last week I put her scope on my gun and she used that for three sessions, to my dismay she could not achieve the same results and her efforts were similar to my own which are normally clover leaf shaped under 5 pence piece. My gun has a 12fps shot difference over a 10 shot string from 150 bar, the only other difference is that mine produces 10.4 ft/lbs and hers 11.4 ft/lb with AA field 4.52. I have tried repeatedly to get hold of Air Arms on the phone but as yet to no avail. Question is should I expect better results or will Air Arms view the groupings of my gun to be acceptable.
Your views please.

raygun

Re: Two S400f rifles different results

Mon May 11, 2015 5:00 pm

Why swap the scopes ?

Why not just shoot each others rifle to see what results are given. From what you have posted I can't tell whether it's one of the rifles with a problem, one of the scopes or the shooter.

ATB
Ray.

roadrunner

Mon May 11, 2015 5:06 pm

I think youve probably answered the question regarding accuracy with the scope swop,i wouldnt worry to much about a 12 fps spread, much of that will be in pellet variations, i would however be concerned with 10.4 flb energy, new it should be around 11 flb then usually the action and barrel will bed in and power will rise to 11.5 ish so you have 0.5 flb spare for differant pellets and weights

no avatar
Ken G

Mon May 11, 2015 7:25 pm

raygun wrote:Why swap the scopes ?