s400 and regulators

no avatar
Chris79

s400 and regulators

Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:08 am

Hi everyone I just got a brand new s400f superlite and I'm relatively new to pcp's, I do notice that if I fill it to 190bar the power level is not that high until about the 160 150 bar mark which is a few wasted pellets so I'm wondering if its worth fitting a regulator to maintain a constant pressure, if so can anyone reccomend a suitable regulator please?, I have seen a robert lane lancet kit on ebay but as I'm not familiar with them I don't know if this would be the right thing to do, I want consistent power levels as I'm into target shooting. Thanks for any advice!

Blackbaronfish

Re: s400 and regulators

Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:47 am

Most 400 and 500 series pcp will have the sweet spot from 170 down to 100 . have a look on the net for Robert Lane regulators as he has a video explaining what you can expect from a reg.
As you have found,filling to 190 will only cause high pressure pushing too hard on the valve. Once you have released some pressure the hammer spring will be able to fully open the said valve.

BBF
Did I mention that I'm the only one to have attended EVERY meet since we started

no avatar
TenMetrePeter

Sat Nov 05, 2016 10:17 am

Also I think I would let it run in for a bit before deciding to go the Regulator route as it does entail drilling a hole in your nice new cylinder.

no avatar
Roger5

Sat Nov 05, 2016 1:45 pm

TenMetrePeter wrote:Also I think I would let it run in for a bit before deciding to go the Regulator route as it does entail drilling a hole in your nice new cylinder.

Not if you use an Altaros reg, no need to drill your cylinder for one of these, so you can go back and take it out if not happy later, or put it in another gun even. Rog

no avatar
TenMetrePeter

Sat Nov 05, 2016 2:37 pm

Roger5 wrote: