HFT 500 air blast

no avatar
Archer50

HFT 500 air blast

Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:08 am

I’m new to Air Arms guns and I’m looking for some advice please. When shooting my HFT 500 I suddenly got a really strong blast of air in my face. I checked, and as I expected the breech o-ring was gone, so I replaced it. There was still a lot of air so I checked the transfer port o-ring and that was split, so I replaced that as well. There is still quite a noticeable blast of air going forwards from where the barrel leaves the bolt housing, but not back from the breech. I double checked the o-rings and they seem fine.

Is this a blast of air forwards from the barrel mounting acceptable? I’ve read somewhere that Air Arms say that a small amount of air escaping is normal. If not, does anyone know what might be causing it, and how I might fix it?

no avatar
Roger5

Re: HFT 500 air blast

Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:51 am

You seem to know what your doing, have you had the barrel out? I would check to see if transfer port lines up with it, look up hole in bolt housing. Rog

no avatar
Archer50

Mon Aug 08, 2016 4:49 pm

Thanks Rog. I haven't taken the barrel off yet - I hope to have time to do that in the next few days. I've just read on another forum that the the barrel has through-holes where the three upper grub screws locate :o . Anyone know if this is true? I hope not - I assumed the grub screws located into depressions, not holes. If they really are holes right through to the bore, I think I might have just found the problem (not to mention a crazy piece of bad design).

no avatar
Roger5

Mon Aug 08, 2016 5:42 pm

Doubt very much that holes go through into bore, depressions more likely, but as said have a look from under bolt housing, you might find it dsnt line up, then just tweak until it does, must admit I have only taken anti tamper out of Hft for a mate, you will probably find that there is a grub screw under bolt housing holding barrel as well as the ones on top. Rog

no avatar