Prosport piston

no avatar
Neknadroj

Prosport piston

Fri Jul 27, 2018 5:07 pm

Hi newbie here
I am after some technical info
I have just purchased a 4 year old prosport and I have had some troubles fitting a Tim bum kit
My question is how deep is the piston with the top hat and any packing removed
I am not sure if there is something stuck at the bottom of the piston were the spring and top hat fit
Tuning kit spring guide and top hat seem too long even with no packing (that I can see)
Banged he’ll out off it to see if anything else is in there but nothing coming out? Spring guide would need cutting down by about 6mm for it to seat on the back of the piston rim
Many thanks for any help.
Cheers

no avatar
pelletcaster

Re: Prosport piston

Fri Jul 27, 2018 7:24 pm

Never had a Prosport - too sad but still on my wish list anyway.

So I just can give you the inside depth of my TX200 HC - 110 mm.

From fettling LGV/LGU I know that washers/tophats can sit quite persistently inside the piston due to old grease.
Put the piston head down and fill some grease dissolving liquid like break cleaner and leave it overnight. Repeat the wash the next day and hammer the piston stem forward down on a wooden surface. Repeat if necessary. Anything left/stuck inside should come out now easily.

Hope this helps.
Live is a journey - not a destination.
-----------------------------------------
AA TX200 HC / LGU Master / LGV-CU / HW35 / HW50s (1974) / HW50S (2015) / HW90 / DIANA 34 T01
DS MK4iS-S / SPA P-12 / CZ200S-Green

Timmytree

Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:20 pm

It may have a washer inside the piston, as above, try brake cleaner, use one of those extending magnetic wands down the side of the latchrod, you can then gently wiggle any washers out with a circular movement.

no avatar
Neknadroj

Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:23 pm

Hi
Thanks so much for the reply
That confirms my problem I can only measure 97mm to the bottom of the internal piston.