Pellet speed

no avatar
RonnieD
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:43 am

Pellet speed

Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:19 am

I do not own a chrony, could someone give me an estimate of the FPS of an air Arms .177 diablo 8.4 grain pellet shot out of a new, stock, U.S. tx200 mk3. Thanks. It shot 995 FPS with diablo basic 7.0 grain pellets at pyramid air when it was purchased

no avatar
tonyc
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 10:55 am

Re: Pellet speed

Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:42 am

Are you sure it was 7.0gr? it's not a weight I recognize - 7.90gr is common.
7.0gr at 995fps is 15.39ft lbs.
At the same energy 8.44gr will be 906fps.
In a springer, heavier pellets are normally a little less efficient so you are probably going to get a little under 900fps.

no avatar
Roger5
Posts: 704
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 8:04 am
Location: Hampton middlesex

Re: Pellet speed

Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:05 am

RWS Hobbys are 7gn in .177

no avatar
FPoole
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:37 am

Re: Pellet speed

Fri Mar 02, 2018 9:27 pm

With the 8.4 grain Exacts, I've seen U.S. FAC spec guns as high as 960, but I would say 920-940 is more typical.

User avatar
pjgtech
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 5:06 pm

Re: Pellet speed

Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:01 pm

Chairgun is your friend here... 8-)
pjgtech: BASC Member: SMK Pistol: Cal.177
Air Arms ProSport:Cal.177
Air Arms S410 TDR::Cal.177:Hawke Vantage
Weihrauch HW 97KT::Cal.22:(SFS Tuned):Hawke Vantage
Gamo Whisper IGT: Cal.177:Gamo 3-9x40
SMK Victory CP2:Cal.177:Hawke Panarama

no avatar
gary martin
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 8:21 pm

Re: Pellet speed

Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:18 pm

pjgtech wrote:
Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:01 pm
Chairgun is your friend here... 8-)
chairgun is a useful tool, but you really need to work your own BC value out, as the ones quoted in the database are an average.

no avatar
SorenSD
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 10:19 pm

Re: Pellet speed

Thu Mar 15, 2018 7:24 pm

My new TX200 MK3 .177 FAC is pushing an average of 903 FPS with JSB Exact 8,44 GR :)
Air Arms TX200 MK3 .177 FAC
FX Royale 400 Laminate Carbon .177 FAC
Zoraki HP-01 Light .177 FAC

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest