Hft 500

no avatar
shw

Hft 500

Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:03 pm

I have an Hft 500 and I sent it back to the factory because it was low on power as it’s still in manufactures warranty .(.my local aa dealer chrono’d at 10.9 ftlbs and the grouping wasn’t spectacularly consistent)
so when it was returned to me from AA they Chrono’d and tested it so the average is now 778.8 FPS with a ftlbs of 11.32 which I’m led to believe is about right ?
However I still seem to be getting a few flyers every 10 shots which isn’t right for this type of gun I’m sure !
So after some reading I’m wondering if my gun needs a strip down and de gunk ,polish / tune etc ... have I got much to gain by doing this and are there any step by step guides as I’ve never stripped a gun before ?
So if their are any hft500 gurus out there Your thoughts will be greatly appreciated as I’m new to the sport...and enjoying it :D

no avatar
cooper_dan

Re: Hft 500

Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:25 am

What pellets are you using? Are you shooting from a knee/bag/bipod etc?
To be honest there isn't much to be gained from stripping these down except for cleaning the barrel. The only things that effect the pellets are the amount of air pushing it, the barrel it's going down, and the silencer or air stripper at the end.

no avatar
shw

Mon Jan 01, 2018 11:00 am

I’m using AA Diablo fields 452. This is what airarms use and test with

no avatar
Archer50

Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:53 am

shw wrote:I’m using AA Diablo fields 452. This is what airarms use and test with

Are your 'flyers' actually 'droppers'? If so, I have the same problem and it is the reason I'm not using my HFT 500 for competitions at the moment.